## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY

BOZEMAN | BILLINGS | NORTHERN | GREAT FALLS COLLEGE

**CAMPUS REPORT** | Board of Regents Meeting | May 19-20, 2016 | Havre

## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY | BILLINGS

MSUB sophomore student, Daniel Mehrens-Wallace, a rehabilitation and human services major, was named a 2016 Class of Newman Civic Fellow by Campus Compact. This year's Newman Civic Fellows represent more than 218 Campus Compact member colleges and universities from 36 states. The award honors student leaders committed to creating lasting change. "By offering my time in the community, to those that need it the most, I am able to move past my own insecurities and make an impact," Mehrens-Wallace said. "What I found is that without action, the things I am passionate about would be hollow, and my life wouldn't be nearly as full."

MSUB Staff Appreciation recognized support and administrative staff for outstanding service to the University. Awards were presented to Trevor Belnap, Enrollment Services Counselor/Recruitment Specialist, City College; Jennifer Burns, Licensure Officer; College of Education; Cindy Krieger, Dean's Assistant, College of Arts and Sciences; Rita Rabe Meduna, Administrative Assistant, Academic Senate Office and the Chancellor's Office; Barb Shafer, Director, Business Services; and Tim Woodard, Plumber, Facility Services.

The Outstanding Alumni Awards Gala acknowledged the achievements of 7 MSUB Alumni. Kim Kaiser, CEO, Billings Family YMCA; Stacy Klippenstein, President, Miles Community College; and Joel Simpson, Resource Outreach Coordinator, Rimrock Foundation and Behavioral Health Consultant, Crow Tribe Head Start; all received Recognition for Exceptional Achievements. Carl Ueland, retired, accepted the Alumni Merit Medallion, for his focus on improving agriculture techniques and for his achievements in developing a patent on a widely used fungicide. Paul Husted, Financial Advisor, Edward Jones, received the Distinguished Alumnus, as one of the most accomplished advisors in Edward Jones history.

MSUB honored students, organizations and staff during the annual Leadership Recognition Program. Lacey Solheid, student engagement coordinator, said, "It's a time to celebrate the awesome accomplishments of all of our student leaders and organizations. We have a talented group of students that have done wonderful things for the University and City of Billings. It brings tears to my eyes to see how proud my colleagues are as they present all of the awards. We're truly blessed as professionals to work with such an outstanding population."

Faculty Excellence is an opportunity for the University to recognize faculty for their excellence in teaching, research and service to the campus and the community. ASMSUB Outstanding Faculty Awards recognized: Andrew Sullivan, Instructor, Process Plant Technology, City College; Gary Amundson, Adjunct Instructor, Business/Finance, College of Business; Lynette Schwalbe, Lecturer, Language Arts, College of Education; Jeffrey Sanders, Professor, Native American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences; and Suzette Nynas, Athletic Training Program Director, College of Allied Health Professions. Tim Urbaniak, Instructor, Drafting & Design, City College, was recognized for his Outstanding Service Learning Coordinator for Community Involvement. Joshua Hill, Assistant Professor, Economics, College of Business, was awarded for Promoting International Student Success, Tasneem Khaleel, Professor, Botany & Biology; and Sarah Friedman, Assistant Professor, Earth Science; both from the College of Arts and Sciences, each received the MCIE Award for Support of Students with Disabilities. Emily Arendt, Assistant Professor, History, College of Arts and Sciences; and Joy Barber, Instructor, General Education/Writing, City College; were each honored with the Dr. Tasneem Khaleel Award for Mentoring Young Female Professionals. The City College Leadership Award was presented to Craig McKenzie, Instructor & Department Chair, Computer Systems Technology at City College. Excellence Award for Non-Tenured Faculty was awarded to Joshua Poulette, University Lecturer, Social Sciences & Cultural Studies, College of Arts and Sciences. Keith Edgerton, Professor & Department Chair, History, College of Arts and Sciences; Andrew Sullivan, Instructor & Program Coordinator, Process Plant Technology, City College; and John Roberts, Assistant Professor, Low Brass, College of Arts and Sciences; were each recipients of the Faculty Excellence Award. Recipients of the Winston & Helen Cox Fellowship Award were presented to Leanne Gilbertson, Assistant Professor, Art History & Northcutt-Steele Gallery Director; and Samuel Boerboom, Assistant Professor, Communication and Theatre, both from the College of Arts and Sciences.